2012 Winners to be announced on Wednesday

Friday 18 May 2012

The winners of this year’s Orwell Prize awards ceremony will be announced on Wednesday, 23rd May. The 2012 winners – of the Book Prize, Journalism Prize and Blog Prize – will be announced from 7pm, with drinks from 6.30pm, at Church House, Westminster, London SW1P 3NZ. Shortlisted books will be on sale beforehand courtesy of Marylebone books. If you haven’t already RSVP’d and you’d like to join us, do get in touch and we’ll do our best to squeeze you in. Email katriona.lewis@mediastandardstrust.org to reserve your free place. Hopefully we’ll see you there!

From elsewhere

  • We’re delighted to have had more than 200 entrants to our latest Twitter competition. Thanks to everyone for taking the time to enter. Congratulations to the winner, Nick Ward who will receive copies of all six shortlisted books.
  • Also on Twitter this week, we’ve been featuring each of our shortlisted blogs, books and journalists. There seems to be plenty of anticipation over who the 2012 winners might be. All will be revealed in just five days.
  • The wartime diaries

    This week’s entries were published on 15th and 19th May 1942. Next week’s entries will be published on 21st, 22nd and 27th May 1942. Don’t forget our other Orwell Diary blogs: his Hop-Picking Diary and The Road to Wigan Pier Diary. If you’ve got any suggestions about our website(s), we’d love to hear from you – email us on katriona.lewis@mediastandardstrust.org or follow us on Twitter.