The Orwell Prize 2017 is now open for entries

Monday 31 October 2016

The Orwell Prize is Britain’s most prestigious prize for political writing, awarded to the book and journalism which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition ‘to make political writing into an art’.

Entry is free, and there is no limit to the number of entries a publisher or publication can make. All entries must have a link to the UK or Ireland (see our rules for more details). The Prize is open to fiction, non-fiction and journalism first published in the calendar year 2016. For the full rules, please see here.

There are three categories:

The Orwell Prize for Books

The Orwell Prize for Journalism

The Orwell Prize for Exposing Britain’s Social Evils, supported by the Joseph Rowntree Foundation

The Orwell Prize for books will be judged by Jonathan Derbyshire, Bonnie Greer, Mark Lawson and Erica Wagner; the Orwell Prize for Journalism 2017 will be judged by Liz Forgan, Alan Little and Francis Wheen; the Orwell for Exposing Britain’s Social evils, sponsored and supported by the Joseph Rowntree Foundation, will be judged by Samira Ahmed, Claire Ainsley and Julian Le Grand.

The Orwell Prize 2017 opens for entries today, 31st October 2016 and closes on the 12th January 2017.