The Orwell Youth Prize 2022: Thank You To Teachers!

Wednesday 31 August 2022

The support of teachers and schools is invaluable in making the Orwell Youth Prize a success. From Barnstable to Rochdale, the work of teachers allows us to grow and develop the Prize each year, reaching more young people throughout the country with our individual feedback, workshops and resources.

This year, 75% of our entrants said that they entered the Prize because their teacher encouraged them to – so a big thank you to you all.

75% of entrants entered the Prize because their teacher encouraged them

Throughout our Programme, we aim to work with teachers, building on their feedback and suggestions, to ensure we create interventions which are of real value in engaging students.

We want to make sure the Prize is reaching all areas of the UK. Through initiatives like the schools programme we piloted this year, we strive to work proactively with teachers throughout the country to directly encourage participation (as well as being open to individuals).

Whether you ran an afterschool club, hosted a workshop, introduced the theme in a class discussion, set class or homework tasks to help students start to write, put up posters, shared in newsletters, or shared our website resources – thank you.

Our special thanks to teachers on our pilot schools programme, for their input and continued engagement with the Prize throughout the year:

We are also very grateful to the following teachers and schools who supported whole classes of students to enter the Prize:

  • Matt Elgin, Conor Braniff, Naomi McDonald, Rachel Hussey, Claire Smith, Dr David Falls and Sian Morris at Aylesbury High School
  • Leanne Savage at Stour Valley Community School
  • Emily Redman and Claire Vainker at Thames Christian College
  • Helen Watkinson, Victoria Matthews and Martin Jeeps at Fulham Boys School
  • Jessica Browning at Norwood School
  • Alexandra Gould at Oundle School
  • The Forest School
  • Beechwood Park School
  • Queen Mary’s Grammar School

Matt Elgin is Head of English at Aylesbury High School, which achieved the most entries from their students this year. Matt said:

We absolutely love the competition as it gives our students a real sense of purpose and voice. We intend to enter next year too.”

We hope other schools and teachers will be inspired to support students to enter the 2023 Orwell Youth Prize – theme and judges to be announced in November!

Do get in touch if you are a teacher and you have ideas for ways in which we can better engage teachers and schools with the Prize, or resources you would like to see from us: