Key dates


The Orwell Prize 2018 is for work published in the calendar year 1st January – 31st December 2017. If you have any questions about eligibility, please contact us.

Please be aware there are separate deadlines for each Orwell Prize (for Books, Journalism and ‘exposing Britain’s social evils’). Longlists, shortlists and winners are announced concurrently.

Entry deadlines

  • Books | midnight 29 November 2017
  • Journalism | midnight 11 January 2018
  • Exposing Britain’s Social Evils | midnight 11 January 2018

Longlists announced
March 2018

May 2018

Prize ceremony
June 2018