Celebration Day 2019 – 5th July, Pembroke College, Oxford

Registrations for this year’s Celebration Day on the 5th July 10.30am – 5pm are now open for entrants. 

Each year we hold a Celebration Day at Pembroke College Oxford, where entrants from across the country come together for a series of seminars, debates and talks featuring guest writers and public figures, as well lunch in the dining hall.

The day will close with the presentation of prizes to the winners and runners up of this year’s Orwell Youth Prize; but with over 100 students in attendance, the Celebration Day isn’t just for those receiving prizes.

All students will participate in morning workshops with professional writers who will share their tips and insights into fields as diverse as investigative journalism, novel writing and poetry. After lunch in the Pembroke college dining hall, students will be broken up into teams and asked to formulate responses to a debate question (question TBC).

Writer and broadcaster Rick Edwards will be joining us again this year as our compere and host, and details of the writers running seminars will be announced shortly.

How do I register to attend?

Entrants (individuals):

Everyone who has entered the prize is eligible to attend (there is no long-list for The Orwell Youth Prize) and places will be allocated on a first come, first serve basis. If you have submitted an entry to the prize this year and have not yet received your invitation by email, please contact admin@orwellyouthprize.co.uk

If you would like to join us, please download your consent form here and email it back to admin@orwellyouthprize.co.uk by Sunday 23rd June, 2019. Once you have returned your consent form, please formally register via the Eventbrite link


The Youth Prize also reserves places for school groups, with priority given to those schools who have received an Orwell Youth Prize workshop this year. Students attending as part of a school group do not need to register individually. If you are a teacher and would like to discuss bringing a school group to the day, please contact admin@orwellyouthprize.co.uk


Please note car parking will not be available at Pembroke College on the 5th July. More information on getting to Pembroke is available here

There may be a small amount of accommodation available to those travelling from a significant distance for the night of the 4th July – please contact Alex Talbott via alextalbott@orwellyouthprize.co.uk for more information if this is of interest.