Shortlist Debate 2010: Has the political class been fatally weakened?

  • David Halpern (research director of the Institute for Government, former chief analyst at the Prime Minister’s Strategy Unit)
  • Helena Kennedy QC (lawyer, broadcaster and writer, shortlisted for the Orwell Prize for Books 2005)
  • Cristina Odone (journalist, novelist and broadcaster)
  • Meg Russell (deputy director of the UCL Constitution Unit, adviser to the Wright Committee on parliamentary reform)
  • Chaired by Jodie Ginsberg (UK and Ireland Bureau Chief, Thomson Reuters)

This year’s shortlists – of 6 books, 7 journalists and 6 bloggers – were announced before a sparky debate on whether the political class had been fatally weakened by recent events including the expenses scandal.

  • Orwell Prize for Books Shortlist 2010
  • Orwell Prize for Journalism Shortlist 2010
  • Orwell Prize for Blogs Shortlist 2010
  • Judges 2010
  • Longlists 2010


[youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube] [youtube][/youtube]