The Orwell Youth Prize is a registered charity, inspiring the next generation of politically engaged young writers across the UK through our annual writing prize, workshops and regional events.

The Orwell Youth Prize 2020

The Orwell Youth Prize 2020 theme has been announced.
This year we are seeking creative responses to ‘The Future We Want’.

Journalism, essays, short stories, blog posts, poems, and plays are all welcome.
How you respond to this year’s theme is your choice.


- Have your work published and recognised by your peers and professionals
- Win a cash prize
- Win books for yourself and your school (winners receive all of Orwell's work, runners up Orwell's Essays)
- Help shape the national conversation


The 2020 Orwell Youth Prize is generously supported by Rethinking Poverty: The Webb Legacy

Subscribe to mailing list

2019 Orwell Youth Prize Winners




Silke Dale Brosig

‘The Faceless Drug’

Francesca Morgan

‘The Man On
The Side’

Tom Warburton


‘The Aptitude Test Kid’

Nadia Lines

‘A Band Apart’

Jessica Johnson

‘Why Did You Organise
The Protest?’

Theo Burman


We use cookies. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies.Accept