The Orwell Youth Prize 2022: Winners

We can now announce the winners of The Orwell Youth Prize 2022: ‘Coming Up For Air: Writing the Climate Crisis’

Congratulations to all our winners, and thank you to everyone who took part in the 2022 Orwell Youth Prize and trusted us with your writing.

Each entry was read by at least two assessors, and the final winners were chosen by our panel of esteemed judges Professor Michael Jacobs, Nada Farhoud, Gillian Clarke, and Dan Bernardo.

Read the outstanding pieces by our winners and runners up below:


Blackpool – Cerys Shanks

Hi! Yes, Western World Speaking – Toni Agbede

Out Of Time? – Jennifer Wolfe


The Milk River – Creagh Factor

Air Cannot Save Air – Alexander Prvulovich

2054 – Eleanor Mead

The Conundrum of the Fossils – James Lomax


The Power of One – Oluwatoni Adesanya

Destination – Underwater – Evie Alam

The Law of the Jungle – Aarushi Dahiya

The Ethics of a KitKat – Ruby McIntee


Push The Button – Noah Dryden-Pell

Shein, the Self, and Sustainability – Maia Betts

Women and Climate Change – Ruby Kalayil Peacock

The following pieces were also highly commended:

Cities Green Not Grey – Christopher Batten
Revelations –  Karensa López
End of My Story – Poppy Buckland
Superstitions – Lila Silk
Gas Mask Paradise – Angus Snowdon
The Dust Monsters – Eva Ho
Ad Infinitum – Nidhi Mahajan
Visitors – Josephine Harris
On Shrooms – Keanu Booth
Who To Save – Emily Rowe