Celebration Day

Each year we hold a Celebration Day at Pembroke College Oxford, where entrants from across the country come together for a series of seminars, debates and talks featuring guest writers and public figures, as well as tours of the college and lunch in the dining hall.

The Celebration Day for the Orwell Youth Prize 2017 was held on Monday 26th June 2017. Our guest writers were Arifa Akbar, Jacob Sam-La Rose, Orwell Fellow Rebecca Omonira-Oyekanmi and Adrian Tempany (whose book And Now the Sun Shines was shortlisted for the Orwell Prize 2017). The day also featured a lively, passionate special election manifesto debate, directed by Andrew Mycock, which resulted in a win for the newly formed ‘Rise’ party. Broadcaster and writer Rick Edwards was our compere and host for the Prize Ceremony and election debate.