2019 Political Fiction Book prize winner

   Political Fiction book prize winner  


Anna Burns

Published by: Faber

Milkman won the Man Booker Prize in 2018 the National Book Critics Circle Award in 2019. Anna Burns, born in Belfast, is the author of two other novels, No Bones and Little Constructions, and of the novella, Mostly Hero. No Bones won the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize and was shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction.

Milkman is a remarkable book — recording a specific time and a specific conflict with brilliant precision but universal in its account of how political allegiances crush and deform our instinctive human loyalties. Its tone of voice — wry and funny, furious and compassionate — is a marvel.”

Tom Sutcliffe